1. Travel

National Forests

A complete recreation guide to National Forests in the United States, including how to get there and what to do when you visit.

National Forests - Northern Region
National forests in Idaho, Montana, North Dakota, and South Dakota.

National Forests - Southern Region
Official USDA Forest Service site for the Southern Region, which includes 12.5 million acres in 13 states: Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, and Virginia.

National Forests - Eastern Region
U.S. National Forests in the Eastern Region, including forests in the states of Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Maine Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, West Virginia, and Wisconsin.

National Forests - Pacific SW Region
Official USDA Forest Service site for the Southwest Region, which manages the national forests in California and assists the State and Private forest landowners in California, Hawaii and the US Affiliated Pacific Islands.

National Forests - Pacific NW Region
Links to national forests in the Pacific Northwest Region, which includes Oregon and Washington.

National Forests - Southwest Region
National forests in Arizona and New Mexico.

National Forests - Rocky Mountain Region
National forests in Colorado, Nebraska, and Wyoming.

National Forests - Intermountain Region
Information on the National Forest Service Intermountain Region, one of the largest forest regions, with land in Utah, Idaho, Wyoming, Nevada, Colorado, and California.

National Forests - Alaska Region
National forests in Alaska, including the Chugach and Tongass, the two largest national forests in the United States.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.